Shrimp Dumplings Any Day of the Week

Hannah Borland
2 min readJan 15, 2021

Hi! My name is Hannah Borland and I am a freshman at the University of Arizona. I am currently a pre-business major and would like to venture into marketing. By keeping a food journal, I will be able to expand on my genres of writing and be entertained in doing so. Also, I love trying new things and by reading and writing about all types of food, I hope I can try and recreate some in the future!

All Chinese food in particular grabs my attention. Specifically, the food that holds significance for me are steamed shrimp dumplings. I was not even two years old, sitting at a high chair at what was soon going to be my favorite restaurant, P.F. Changs, when I first had them. Unfortunately for me, I had to gum most of it as I didn’t even have all my teeth yet. Ever since, they have been my go-to appetizer for every chinese meal. Chinese food has become my comfort meal through the years. Whether I needed cheering up or a reason to celebrate, my mom always took me to get my favorite dumplings. I even managed to persuade the rest of my family that Chinese food should be our tradition for Christmas Eve dinner. What makes this plan extra special is that I have a step-grandfather that is Chinese and he somehow makes every Christmas Eve dinner better than the last. And every year like clockwork, he makes my favorite dumplings before the mouth-watering entrees. We sit at the dinner table, stomachs full, grinning from ear to ear and bonding over our mutual love for Chinese food.

--

--